Faculty and Staff

College Success 

Ms. Cassie       
Director of College Success            cassie20@belahs.org

Ms. Kim       
College Readiness Teacher
Grades 9 & 10
kimberlyp20@belahs.org

Ms. Stephany
Alumni Success Coordinator   stephany21@belahs.org

Ethnic Studies 

Ms. Radha 
Ethnic Studies ELA Team Leader  
10th Grade Ethnic Studies Teacher
radha@belahs.org

Ms. Marieme
9th Grade Ethnic Studies Teacher
marieme21@belahs.org

Mr. Steven  
IB Theory of Knowledge Teacher    steven20@belahs.org

Mr. Gregory
Ethnic Studies Teacher   
gregory21@belahs.org

History

Mr. Farhad
U.S. History Teacher 
History Team Leader
farhad20@belahs.org

Mr. Jose
Government & Economics Teacher  
jose21@belahs.org

Ms. Adanna
IB History Teacher  
adanna21@belahs.org

Ms. Sara
IB History Teacher  
sara21@belahs.org

Math 

Mr. Esteban 
Algebra II Teacher  
esteban@belahs.org

Mr. David 
Geometry Teacher  
Math Team Leader
david20@belahs.org

Ms. Kim  
Algebra I & Physics Teacher    kimberly20@belahs.org

Ms. Janelle 
Algebra I Teacher   
janelle21@belahs.org

Science 

Ms. Elizabeth  
Biology Teacher                elizabeth21@belahs.org

Ms. Hawa       
Chemistry Teacher
hawa20@belahs.org

Ms. Melisa 
Computer Science Teacher  
Science Team Leader    melisa20@belahs.org

Ms. Celina       
STEAM Teacher                celina20@belahs.org

Ms. Denise       
FLSE/Wellness Teacher            denise20@belahs.org

Ms. Bri
Wellness Teacher
biannap21@belahs.org

Ms. Sarah
Earth Science Teacher  
sarah21@belahs.org

Ms. Kike 
BioMedical Science Teacher 
kike21@belahs.org

Student Life Team

Ms. Tara       
Student Life Coordinator            tara@belahs.org

Ms. Katherine       
12th Grade Social Worker             katherine@belahs.org

Ms. Laura       
11th Grade Social Worker            laura@belahs.org

Ms. Krystal       
10th Grade Social Worker             krystal20@belahs.org

Ms. Laurel     
9th Grade Social Worker
laurel21@belahs.org

World Language 

Ms. Sam      
Latin I Teacher                    sam21@belahs.org

Ms. Niti      
Latin II Teacher               
niti21@belahs.org

Ms. Julia       
Spanish I & II Teacher               
julia@belahs.org

Join our Team to Empower Young Women

Brooklyn Emerging Leaders Academy (BELA) Public Charter High School believes that our greatest instructional strategy is our staff. Effective educators, who are continually learning and supporting our young women, with an expectation of excellence, are key to each student’s success. BELA’s founding team members seek inspiration and challenge from their work; seek to understand themselves and their colleagues to better achieve a shared goal; show the urgency and gratitude that accompanies doing something you love; embrace the possibility of failure and believe failures are necessary for learning.

BELA is an intentional learning community focused on learning, collaboration and results. We know the best educators are themselves lifelong learners. We support our faculty with robust professional learning experiences.